Home | Others | Art of Living | Padma Sadhana

What is Padma Sadhana?

A little about Padma Sadhana

Padma Sadhana is a series of Yoga aasanas(postures) which are taught as part of the DSN course by the Art of Living Foundation.

The low impact postures, most of which are pretty standard Yoga postures, are to be done in a very specific sequence, to get the maximum benefit. They twist and turn your body, and at the same time relax it.

The exact details of the postures, breathing, and mind control, which together make Padma Sadhana, are not allowed to be disclosed by the participants. This is not to maintain secrecy or to make curious people do the DSN course, but because of the negative effects it can have if the technique is not shared in the right manner and in the right details. Only the qualified AOL teachers are allowed to teach Padma Sadhana.

That said, it is allowed, even encouraged, to share the experiences you have when you do Padma Sadhana. Majority of DSN course participants report increased mental peace, mental stability, and improved determination and confidence after doing the Padma Sadhana. It is not without reason that Guruji himself refers to the Padma Sadhana as the "password to internal energy'.

The DSN course, by design is aimed at increasing the dynamism, courage and commitment of the participants. Padma Sadhana, when done regularly as per the prescribed procedures, aims at achieving all the goals. It should also be noted that the knowledge points gained in the DSN course play an equal role in achieving these course objectives.

Many participants, who perform the Padma Sadhana regularly over a prolonged period of time, report increased peace with oneself and with the surroundings. They report more mental stability and a joyful demeanor owing to the practice of Padma Sadhana.

Thought not clearly studied or documented, I have an opinion that the Padma Sadhana postures actually activate many endocrine glands, thus releasing optimum hormones into the blood stream. And since hormones are closely related to the experience of various feelings, people do feel increased peace and stability, and drive and commitment at the same time.

Another process taught as part of the DSN course is the Chakra healing, which again is a process of activating and improving the mind body interface.

A little about the Chakras

As per the ancient Hindu scriptures and traditions, there are seven chakras located in the human body, all in the upper part of the body, which work as energy centers and mind-body interface. They are generally visualized as rotating whorls of light, or flower shaped fans. The speed of rotation of these whorls indicate the health of that particular chakra. They are considered as the focal point of transmitting and receiving energy, and any obstruction in any of the chakras causes abnormalities in human body.

The seven chakras are as follows:

  1. Mooladhar chakra - located close to the last bone of spinal column
  2. Swadishthan chakra - located behind the genitals
  3. Manipur chakra - located in the naval area
  4. Anahat chakra - located near the heart area
  5. Vishuddha chakra - near the throat area
  6. Aagya chakra - located between the two eyebrows, the third eye area
  7. Sahasrara chakra - located at the top of the head

Each of the above chakras plays a key role in the functioning of human body, primarily the endocrine system, which is responsible for the release and balance of hormones in the body.

Detailed information about chakras, can be found in a very good blog article by Erin Pavlina.

Art of Living
His Holiness Sri Sri
Part One Course
Anandji's DSN
Padma Sadhana