Home | Others | Art of Living | Part One Course

Our beloved Guruji - His Holiness Sri Sri Ravi Shankarji

The ART Of LIVING Part One (Basic) Course

The Art of Living courses, including the part one are conducted by the Art of Living Foundation.

The part one course is spread over 6 days, usually beginning on a Tuesday and ending on a Sunday. The sessions are conducted 3 hours a day, with longer hours, including lunch and satsang, on the final day, normally a Sunday.

The course is conducted by highly qualified and spiritually advanced teachers, each of whom has been personally trained by His Holiness Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, lovingly called Gurudeva by his devotees (Guru = teacher, deva = God). It is common to find the followers greet each  other with Jai Gurudev.

At the core of the part one course (aka the Basic course), is the teaching of the Sudarshan Kriya, or just Kriya for short. The Kriya is the foundation stone of the Part One course. And since the Part One course is the minimum requirement for most other advanced courses, the Kriya is also a foundation of all Art of Living Courses.

The Kriya is an extremely powerful breathing technique, which, when learnt and done under the right guidance, removes all the accumulated stress in the mind and body, and elevates the spiritual level. Sudarshan Kriya is a unique rhythmical breathing process that was revealed to Sri Sri Ravi Shankar during a spell of silent meditation that he had gone into for 10 days in 1982.

There are seven levels of existence - body, breath, mind, intellect, memory, ego and being - and it is possible to integrate and bring peace to each of these levels using Sudarshan Kriya and guided meditations.

Some of the steps leading to the core breathing exercises, that make up Sudarshan Kriya, are also taught by the Art of Living teachers, including Guruji Himself and Rishi Nityapragyaji on television channels and are also available here.

The Part One course also teaches 5 sutras - basic tenets to live one's life by. These tenets, all purely common sense, when kept in mind at all times, act as pillars of strength and raises the level of consciousness of the human mind. They also help to calm the mind and prevent depression in times of personal crisis.

...and of course, if you have done Anandji's DSN course, you would know the sixth sutra as well!

PS. I haven't mentioned the five sutras here. However, if you need to recollect them, kindly drop me a line and I will mail them to you.

Feedback about this page is welcome.

Art of Living
His Holiness Sri Sri
Part One Course
Anandji's DSN
Padma Sadhana